Irish Holiday Cottages & Self Catering Accommodation

Please call us on 011 44 1756 707 720

Opening times: Sun to Fri 9am - 5:30pm, Sat 9am - 7pm

Contact Us

Property Reviews for Newfield, Atlantic Coast, County Mayo (3832)

Return to Property

Property 3832
Newfield, Atlantic Coast, County Mayo
Newfield, Atlantic Coast, County Mayo

« Return to Property

Higgins family, September 2019
This is an excellent property with amazing views across Clew Bay and the access road has the first class Nevins Pub directly opposite within 500m walking distance, with good beer and excellent dining. The house is well equipped and excellently placed for some of the best tourist spots in the area as well as being within a few miles of an excellent leisure facility attached to a local hotel with good gym facilities and a swimming pool. Within easy driving distance of Ireland West International Airport.

Byrne Family, July 2019
Excellent property. Location and scenery are stunning. Great for families. Well equipped.

The Flood Party, August 2018
This house is fantastic! It was my second time staying here and I hope to be back again. The location is great for cyclists and hikers, and the views are second to none. The house is very comfortable, with enough space for a large group to be comfortable without being on top of each other. The kitchen is well kitted out and Nevins (two minutes walk away) do great food if you're not in the mood to cook - they even have a gluten free menu! I would highly recommend this property.

Barrett family, June 2018
What a wonderful property, the views, the space and the location was just perfect. This property is perfect for family or groups of friends; lots of space, one can watch TV, play games or sit in the sunroom and read from the great library. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommended this property.

The Obrien Family, May 2018
We just loved our stay in this home. Beautiful location within easy reach of so much Mayo has to offer. We will just have to comeback to stay here again.

Grady Family, June 2017
This is a fabulous holiday home in an amazing location * we think the views from the house are the best in the Mulranny area and there is nothing better than sitting on the patio soaking up the view and atmosphere. Great family property, loads of space and many walks and scenic areas within easy reach.

The Warrington Family, June 2017
The views must be some of the best in Ireland. A family friendly house, with pubs, beaches and sports all nearby. Try the kite-surfing at Keel on Achill Island!

Matthew Warrington, May 2016
Fantastic setting. Lovely view. Very comfortable, modern house. Pub/restaurant 5 minutes walk away.

Naughton/Kavanaghs, April 2016
We have had a wonderful time here. The house is beautiful and a just wonderful time was had by all of us. Thank you.

The Reillys, September 2015
We had a ball, we love the house and it has the best views from all of the windows. The weather was fabulous and we hate to leave. Love to come back soon.

Hegarty family, August 2015
Nothing but praise for the home which you provided for us! With five little children in their element, always delighted to be coming back to their 'holiday home', we had by far the best holiday ever with the kids.

The Lornegan Family, August 2015
My family all really enjoyed our holiday, the holiday home was spacious, the views spectacular and we all thoroughly recommend this home for a fun and enjoyable family holiday!

The Warrington Family, July 2015
The view is spectacular, in all weathers. Cycling,beaches, pub, are all nearby. Left saying "we will return".

Markey Family, May 2015
Beautiful place with wonderful views. Adapted ideally for all ages - great play areas and equipment for children. Proximity to pub/restaurant for eating out is very useful!

Keane Family, April 2015
The views were fantastic. The house had everything we needed.

Meskin family, September 2014
Great holiday and fabulous weather. We brought our road bikes with us and cycled all over Achill Island in particular * never had better bike riding anywhere * great views, beaches, pubs and cafes * couldn't ask for more.

Naughtons, September 2014
What a beautiful house. The views are stunning. We were blessed wilth incredibly good weather. The house accommodated 8 of us beautifully, Best bits * the view, Clare Island, Achill Island, Croagh Patrick and the Guinness in Nevins (5 minute walk away). Recommend Clew Bay Bike Hire at the hotel and the greenway to Achill.

Newtons <BR> Newtons, August 2014
Had an amazing stay at Lighthouse Hill. Views were absolutely amazing from all rooms. Weather was not too bad. Overall was a great experience. Everyone loved the Go Kart. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay! Definitely come again.

The Clarke Family, June 2014
The property and situation was great. The local facilities and pub/restaurant were excellent.

The Battley Family, April 2014
Delightful family accommodation with plenty of games and activities even if the weather isn't kind.

Andy and Lorraine, Suffolk, October 2013
Fantastic home, great area and friendly people - it's why we come to the west coast every year. Some turbulent weather but when the sun shines through it's just magic and unforgettable. Going home tomorrow relaxed and calm and one day we'll stay forever maybe!

Richard and Sally, September 2013
We have had a wonderful time - superb house and views and lots to do.

Armstrong family,Armagh, October 2012
A wonderful place - what a way to spend New Year! The views are spectacular and the house is the best equipped we have been in. Winter beach walks, rockpooling with girls a big hit. We look forward to returning again in the future.

Jill, Co. Kildare, September 2012
Heading home tomorrow but I don't want to leave - I think that about sums it up!! Thanks for the gift of your home.

Braonain family, Dublin., August 2012
We had a wonderful time in Lighthouse Hill! Lovely house and so much to do in the surrounding area. Kayaking and Keem Beach were amazing. Make sure to walk over to the islands at low tide! Love to come back soon.

Swinton Family, July 2012
Very relaxing stay, well equipped house, excellent for families

The Goodwin family, July 2012
We rented this cottage for various age groups 1-76 years old. Everyone loved the house, equipped with everything you could want. Beautifully furnished and superb location, rooms full of light, spacious and modern. Beautiful house.

Reynolds family, Stafford, UK., July 2012
A really lovely holiday. The beach at Keem is well worth the trip if you like heights! Bike hire a good day if you are feeling fit. Surfing and kayaks - great fun. The house is great for an all weather holiday and Nevin's pub so very welcoming. We will definitely be visiting Ireland again.

The Crook Family, July 2012
Stunning location in a beautiful modern house. The house was very well equipped and child friendly. The house is situated in a good place for exploring the area and within a short distance of shops, pub, etc.

The Wilsons, Cumbria, UK, June 2012
The house is wonderful. A really comfortable, well-equipped place (great music system, wonderful baths/showers/great kitchen) to return to after a long day exploring. The views are a joy whatever the weather - which was mixed! Highlights - music at Nevin's wit the Mulloy Brothers on Thursdays, climbing Croagh Patrick, Cycling all around Achill and climbing the cliffs above Keem, picking and cooking black shells from the bay, just sitting and reading in the lounge, cycling to Mulranny on the Greenway in the morning to get the paper, playing scrabble with Dad. And winning! Thank you for letting us enjoy Lighthouse Hill.

Gaughans, Preston, Lancs, UK, June 2012
We have all had a fantastic week. Usual weather - storms, rain, sunny, showery and scorching (all got burned on Keem Beach). The house has been perfect - really well equipped with games and the kids loved the go-karts. Loads of crabs to catch on a grey day off the little bridge down the path in front of Mulranny Park Hotel. Thanks! p.s. we conquered Coragh Patrick - tough but glad to say we've done it.

Mr Martin Gaughan, June 2012
Fantastic property in a beautiful location. Everything needed was supplied. Our large family had a brilliant week.

McNeela family, Preston, Lancs, UK., May 2012
The house exceeds expectation again - fantastic. Thank you! We have had great weather - great time on beaches in Mulranny and Doohoma. Will be back*.

The Calders, Southhampton, UK., April 2012
Three loaves of soda bread and one marriage proposal - what a great week.

Farrell Family, November 2011
Have had a wonderful time on our first visit to Ireland. Could have spent the whole time in the sun room staring at the view. However, for the time of year we were lucky to have had very mild weather and lots of sunshine, so packed in lots of sightseeing and walking on beaches. Perfect. Love the house. Amazingly peaceful and quiet.

Pacci Family, September 2011
When we arrived we were happy to find such wonderful accommodation. The first few days we had gale force winds and rain so we did a lot of sightseeing by car. The rest of the week was more in keeping with Ireland's weather so we were very happy. We successfully summitted Croagh Patrick and could see for miles all the way around! I find that time does not 'pass' in Ireland, it accumulates*.the beauty of 'old Ireland' is well kept and existing right next to present day life. We enjoyed the food and the music at Nevin's Pub (walking distance and WiFi available). We made this place home for a week and have enjoyed it all.

The Conway Family, July 2011
Size and location excellent, playroom very welcome for the children. We all enjoyed our stay, and the weather was beautiful.

The England Family, June 2011
Breathtaking views. Our 2 year old had so much space to run around inside, playroom was great too!

Delany/Attwood, November 2010
All kinds of weather * storms to sun to storms and back again. Great to sit back and watch it all happening. Great days out and walks along foreshore. Highlights * Achill Island especially Keem Bay. Belmullet and Ceide Fields archaeological site. Westport House * not to be missed. Museum of Country Life, Castlebar. Lovely welcome and food in Nevins * walking distance, all too handy! Everyone friendly and neighbour Patrick was full of local knowledge.

Coyle Family, August 2010
Amazing location, fantastic views ( any weather). Kids loved Westport House,Achill Island and Keem bay our favourite day out.Atlantic drive to Dooega is breathtaking.Like many before us we wellied up and went mussel picking across Clew bay.Enjoyed the meal of them along with blackberries from the lane. Perfect house,perfect location, perfect holiday!

Whitehead Family, August 2010
What a superb, welcoming, family home from home. The scenery is magnificent, the facilities all one could want. If you ever think of selling please can I have the first option ?

Derek, Exmouth, July 2010
Size and layout of property ideal for large groups. Stunning location and scenery. Good pub/restaurant very close by.

Cooper Family, July 2010
Achill Island was beautiful, Keem Strand stunning. Climbed Croagh Patrick - awesome. Walked the railway walks and had ever changing weather but all in all a great week. Fantastic house. None of us want to go home!

O'Donnell Family, July 2010
The house had so much for the children to do - everyday they would find something else to do or play. The views from this house are amazing.

O'Keeffe Family, July 2010
The views from this house are fantastic and ever changing. I hope we left some shells after us on Mulranny beach! Your house is awesome. I would love to live here - what a holiday home, there is not a thing you forgot to include. I hope to come back again

Cleary family, June 2010
Fantastic week, words cannot describe the views. The house is wonderful! We don't want to go home!!

Martin , May 2010
Beautiful and Panoramic. We went touring along Atlantic Drive which was beautiful and also managed to play some golf.

McNeela family, May 2010
Fantastic house. Fantastic weather. The views fabulous. Thank you.

McIntyre family, May 2010
Back again. Views still wonderful.

Chauffier family, April 2010
For my third visit to Lighthouse Hill we had the best of Irish weather. A whole week of summer at Easter! Lazy days outside comtemplating the views; what an amazing spot! A happy house.

Skerritts, March 2010
We have all had a lovely time in Mulranny. House 1st class, weather fantastic for time of year.

Mrs Susie Colgan, March 2010
Owners were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful scenery and excellent quality.

Rogers, March 2010
Thank you we have had a wonderful week. A great house, very well equipped, with fantastic views. Thanks again.

Sharpe family (USA), August 2009
We came for one week with friends with low expectations and curiosity about what we had booked back in January. Well, we have been completely in awe of this amazing view and scenery! Clew Bay is ever changing with beauty and mystery. The weather they tell us is unlike they have ever seen in August. That hasn't stopped us from hill walking from Lighthouse Hill, visiting the oyster and sheep farm, Achill Island, Mulranny beaches, Westport, Clifton, Galway and Newport. Your house is perfectly thought out to capture every view, the professional kitchen is well equipped, the water pressure of baths outstanding and the beds so comfy! The children loved the playroom and adventures outside. Thank you and we hope to visit again.

Doyle Family (USA), August 2009
This house is amazing. Each day we pulled up to the drive from an outing and approached the 'Green Door' knowing it is a true rest haven from an adventurous and many times exhausting day. Coming home to the house was always comforting. The house has been filled with laughter from the children and adults, we have enjoyed every day. Thank you for sharing the opportunity to truly live Ireland. We had a blast. It was just lovely.

Collopys, July 2009
Amazing holiday. We didn't want to leave. Scenery was beautiful.

Cormacks, June 2009
Fantastic weather all week. A lovely house in a stunning setting. We all had a fabulous time.

Ulmer Family, April 2009
What a perfect piece of earth! Great place and we are delighted to celebrate the 70th anniversary of our 'grand-pa' from Dresden, Germany with us here at Lighthouse Hill. Ireland and west coast at its best! Would love to come back one day.

Rogers Family (USA), September 2008
A piece of paradise * even the rain could not dampen our spirits!

Agnosti Family (Switzerland), June 2008
Your house is very beautiful and on a very quiet place. We had 3 weeks wonderful weather and so our holiday was perfect. Thank you for the time which we could spend in your dream house and hope we could come back to the nicest place in Ireland

Agnosti, June 2008
Your house is very beautiful and on a very quiet place. We had 3 weeks wonderful weather and so our holiday was perfect. Thank you for the time which we could spend in your dream house and hope we could come back to the nicest place in Ireland

Pam and steveap, April 2008
Our first time here and we loved every minute. Comfortable house, wonderful views, fantastic surroundings. We'll be back!.

Pam and Steve, April 2008
Our first time here and we loved every minute. Comfortable house, wonderful views, fantastic surroundings. We'll be back!.

Moya and Steve, April 2008
Our second time at Lighthouse Hill and we've had a wonderful time. Perfection!

Moya and Steve, April 2008
Our second time at Lighthouse Hill and we've had a wonderful time. Perfection!

Hennings, Northern Ireland, October 2007
Beautiful house. Attention to detail second to none. Thank you for allowing us to share in it. Fab week.

Jones, February 2007
Waking up to stunning views, eating good local food, seeing wonderful Achill Island and relaxing with good friends with lots of Guinness. And mussels hand picked from the local beach on Valentine's Day. Perfect! The children loved the fresh air and freedom and did they sleep well!

Shepards, December 2006
We came on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time in this lovely house. We found it very well equipped and thought the attention to small details was outstanding!!! Would recommend a trip to see Keem Bay and Keel Strand in Achill Island for stunning views and beautiful sandy beaches, also Mulranny strand when the tide is out.

Mc Inytre, June 2006
This is the best designed and equipped house we have stayed in in Ireland in the last five years.

RJ Lam, Surrey., August 2005
This is such a lovely sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of city life! Thank you for letting me stay here. The eery tranquillity after a storm is one of my favourite sun- lounge experiences.

Kavanagh and McAdam familes, July 2005
Wow! What a house, what a view, what a week. Will definitely be back. Fantastic!

Jill and Alex Stanier, June 2005
Jaw-dropping views all around that are an ever-changing landscape picture*we all had a wonderful holiday - may we come again please?

Graham Brammer and family, June 2005
It is rare that I am short of words - but this place - as I look out over the bay - listening to a Mozart CD, is simply stunning.

Iain and Elizabeth Stewart, Durham., June 2005
Fabulous 'home' fabulous holiday * we will return*.

Janet and Malcolm Fletcher, Lancashire, June 2005
Lovely enjoyable 2 weeks. Weather, Lighthouse Hill, County Mayo all superb. (We promise to return!). Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us. It has been a perfect base for our family. The children don't want to go home

Stanier Children, London, July 2004
Tastefully furnished with stunning views. A 10 out of 10 holiday. 5 stars * no actually 6 stars. Beautiful beaches and attractions. I loved it. Community is so friendly and welcoming here! Please can we come again!?

Janet and Malcolm Fletcher, June 2004
Thank you for sharing your beautiful house with us. It has been a perfect base for our family. The children don't want to go home.